Fundamental Astuteness

The Essence of Astuteness: Non-Partisan Intellectual Honesty

Why did you not read this article? You’ll never have the chance to read it again. An interesting experiment…

with 3 comments

NOTE: Read through this all the way quickly. 

I suspect only familiar wordpress users will understand fully how this is going to work, but let’s give it a shot.

The WordPress Blog server has, as we know, millions of blogs, posting thousands of article each day and hour under hundreds of tags. Tags provide a way for people to find articles they think will interest them. When an article is tagged under, say, “politics” a link to that article will appear on a list under that tag name on wordpress.com. So, suppose I write an article and tag it under “politics”. Immediately, a link to my new post will appear on the list of wordpress blog articles that have been tagged under politics. Users interested in politics will be perusing that list, see my article pop up when they refresh the page, and hopefully, click on the article. 

The neat thing is that an article can be tagged several times on different themes, and thus, appear on several wordpress tag lists at once, thus increasing the liklihood of it getting clicked. 

SO HERE IS THE EXPERIMENT: If I write this article, what kind of hits will I get if I increase the number of tags? Suppose I tag this article under a whole array of things, and for the purpose of experiementation, a whole array of unrelated tags? I am going to tag this article under the most famous wordpress taglines, as follows: 

  • Life
  • Music
  • News
  • Politics
  • Barack Obama
  • Culture
  • Christianity
  • Family
  • Travel
  • Photography
  • Sports
  • Random
  • Entertainment
  • Religion
We’ll try just that for now, and see what happens. Hypothesis is, if I tag this post under so many popular tags, then the traffic will increase substantially. 
So, with that in mind, if you care to, express in the comments section how you found this article. 
Written by Astuteness

August 26, 2008 at 11:05 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm, intersting post… I guess. But what are you trying to prove?? Why do you want to increase your number of hits?

    Dallas

    August 26, 2008 at 5:40 pm

  2. I wouldn’t mind if I did, to be sure 🙂 I was mostly wanting to know what would happen if I did what I did.

    Astuteness

    September 2, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  3. Well, did your thesis prove itself valid?? Did your hits increase dramatically over the norm?

    Dallas

    September 7, 2008 at 12:23 pm


Leave a Reply

