Fundamental Astuteness

The Essence of Astuteness: Non-Partisan Intellectual Honesty

The latest trends

with 2 comments

As mentioned previously, I had no idea how hard a senior year could be, but I”m enjoying every minute of it. That being said, I have also found out that it is not possible to devote equal amounts of brainpower to every interesting subject in a meaningful way. Therefore, three things of hard thought have been occupying my thoughts recently.

  1. Theological subejcts: God cannot create a rock so heavy he cannot lift it. This in no way contradicts the rationale for believing in God. More on this later
  2. Abortion: This is a subject I will write about more. The main thing here for the pro-life movement is that we haven’t been as effective as we could be in how we debate the issue. Of course we’re pro-life because we believe the unborn are living human persons. But we’re not good at taking on leftist rhetoric about “choice” and “rights,” and we do not effectively demonstrate why we believe the unborn are persons. This must change, and I hope to communicate what I have learned in this regard through this blog. Maybe someday I’ll get a chance to speak on it.
  3. The Drug Debate: I’m beginning to suspect that the war on drugs is over-rated. People like the libertarian ABC Anchor John Stossel have used their cynical writing skills to provoke me to re-think what most of my associates assume about the matter. Its a divisive issue, but research into the matter, and studies about the effectiveness of keeping them illegal seem to substantiate Stossel’s claim. In short, there’s a lot of evidence out there that needs plenty of thought and critique, and so I’m beginning to suspect that I will one day enter politics with a very libertarian position on the issue. I hope to develop some of those thoughts here in the mid to far future. Time right now is being spent collecting the evidence on both sides.

Written by Astuteness

November 5, 2008 at 7:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So far, I’m agreeing! I look forward to the rest! (Whenever that happens…senior year. Yeah. =D Take your time… =D)

    KP

    December 7, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  2. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

    Michael Tim

    February 28, 2009 at 11:20 am


Leave a comment